fbpx Environmental Theatre and Climate Justice in Africa | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page on Wednesday 5 July at 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 7 p.m. EAT (Nairobi, UTC + 3).

Uganda, Kenya
Wednesday 5 July 2023

Environmental Theatre and Climate Justice in Africa

How Did We Get Here? How Do We Move Forward?

Wednesday 5 July 2023

Taiwo Afolabi presented the conversation Environmental Theatre and Climate Justice in Africa livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network on Wednesday 5 July at 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 5 p.m. WAT/BST (Lagos, London, UTC +1) / 6 p.m. SAST/CEST (Berlin, Johannesburg, UTC +2) / 7 p.m. EAT (Nairobi, UTC + 3).

Environmental theatre in Africa has been a vital medium for creating awareness of and learning about climate change on the continent. Artists are aware that climate change has come to stay, the need to engage the art to discuss issues such as climate change mitigation strategies, anticipatory adaptation modes and climate justice. This episode introduced the series. Guest speakers reflected on the question of environmental theatre and climate justice in Africa. Particularly, we reflected on the past and imagine the future. Questions explored include how did we get here? what are the challenges of doing environmental theatre on the continent and how can environmental theatre fully promote climate justice on the continent? And how do we move forward?

Panelists

Aleya Kassam is a Kenyan feminist, storyteller, writer, and performer. Her work, which is often eco-feminist in nature, explores the spaces between imagination and memory, and uses ritual as a way to access those realms. She is also a co-founder of the award-winning content studio, The LAM Sisterhood, which fills the world with stories for African women to feel seen, heard, and beloved including the children's podcast KaBrazen.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing-arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today