fbpx Canales Abiertos | Open Channels | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Canales Abiertos | Open Channels

A Global Learning Community of Popular Theatre Artists, Educators, and Enthusiasts Based in the Caribbean and its Diaspora.

A group of artists sand in front of a brightly painted mural.
Finding Open Channels’ Place in the Caribbean Cultural Landscape
Essay

Finding Open Channels’ Place in the Caribbean Cultural Landscape

20 June 2024

J Emilio Bencosme-Zayas shares the experience of participating in the Festival del Caribe in Santiago de Cuba as part of Open Channels/Canales Abiertos. In reflecting on the festival, he discusses what Open Channels has achieved so far, and imagines what else could happen in the future.

El Cruce event poster.
Canales Abiertos 2023: El Cruce | Open Channels 2023: The Crossing
Video

Canales Abiertos 2023: El Cruce | Open Channels 2023: The Crossing

Finding Our Place in the Caribbean Cultural Landscape

Sunday 14 January 2024
New Orleans, Santiago de Cuba, Puerto Rico, Santo Domingo

Members of the global learning community Canales Abiertos | Open Channels premiered a new thirty-five minute documentary video together about their one-week residency in Santiago de Cuba in July 2023.

event poster for Open Channels & The Caribbean Roots of Theater for Social Change.
Open Channels and the Caribbean Roots of Theatre for Social Change
Video

Open Channels and the Caribbean Roots of Theatre for Social Change

Exploring the Dialectical Possibilities for "Re-Ritualizing" Theatre and “Re-Theatricalizing” Everyday Life in the Twenty-First Century

Saturday 15 October 2022
New Orleans, Louisiana

Imagining America and Open Channels presented Open Channels and the Caribbean Roots of Theatre for Social Change livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 15 October 2022 at 11:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, CDMX, UTC -5) / 2:30 p.m. EDT (New York, Havana, UTC -4).

open channels 2022 poster.
Canales Abiertos / Open Channels
Video

Canales Abiertos / Open Channels

Un Taller de Teatro Popular del Caribe desde Santiago de Cuba y Nueva Orleans / A Caribbean Theatre Workshop from Santiago de Cuba & New Orleans

Saturday 9 July 2022
Santiago de Cuba

The Stone Center for Latin American Studies, The Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute of Tulane University (New Orleans, Louisiana), and Estudio Teatral Macubá presented Canales Abiertos 2022 livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 9 July at 7 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7) / 9 a.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC -5) / 10 a.m. EDT (Santiago de Cuba, UTC -4).

A woman in a white dress with short hair dancing with an ensemble of other women and men behind her.
Open Channels: The Journey Begins/Canales Abiertos: La jornada comienza
Essay

Open Channels: The Journey Begins/Canales Abiertos: La jornada comienza

29 July 2021

Fátima De La Caridad Patterson Patterson, Mathew Schwarzman, and Carolina Caballero share their experience of creating Open Channels, an event where artists from thirteen countries gathered digitally to talk about Caribbean popular theatre.

Fátima De La Caridad Patterson Patterson, Mathew Schwarzman, y Carolina Caballero comparten sus experiencias creando Open Channels (Canales Abiertos), un evento donde artistas de trece países compartieron digitalmente para hablar del Teatro Popular Caribeño.

event poster for Open Channels—a Caribbean Theatre Workshop from Santiago de Cuba & New Orleans Canales Abiertos—un Taller de Teatro Popular del Caribe desde Santiago de Cuba y Nueva Orleans.
Open Channels / Canales Abiertos 2021
Video

Open Channels / Canales Abiertos 2021

A Caribbean Theatre Workshop from Santiago de Cuba & New Orleans / Canales Abiertos—un Taller de Teatro Popular del Caribe desde Santiago de Cuba y Nueva Orleans

Thursday 8 July 2021
Cuba

The Stone Center for Latin American Studies and The Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute and The New Orleans Center for the Gulf South of Tulane University (New Orleans, LA), and Estudio Teatral Macubá presented Open Channels livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 8 July 2021 at 10 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 9 a.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC -5) / 7 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7).

tryptych of performers on stage
Open Channels—a Caribbean Theatre Workshop from Santiago de Cuba & New Orleans
Video

Open Channels—a Caribbean Theatre Workshop from Santiago de Cuba & New Orleans

Canales Abiertos—un Taller de Teatro Popular del Caribe desde Santiago de Cuba y Nueva Orleans

Thursday 9 July 2020
Santiago, Cuba

CubaNOLA Arts Collective, Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute at Tulane University, and Estudio Teatral Macubá present Open Channels, a live learning encounter for popular theatre artists, scholars, students, teachers, and audiences of Caribbean culture. The three-hour online inaugural event was held in Spanish and English, Thursday 9 July 2020 at 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 2 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC -5) / 12 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC -7) livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Series are collections of content curated around a specific theme. HowlRound works with curators to develop topical pieces meant to spotlight current events and happenings within the commons.

Subscribe to HowlRound

Sign up for our daily, weekly, or quarterly emails so you never miss the latest theatre conversations.

Sign me up

Supporting HowlRound

We fundraise to keep all our programs free and open and to pay our contributors. Thank you to all who make our work possible!

Donate today