fbpx The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) 2024 | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page from Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2024.

Toronto, Canada
Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2024

The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) 2024

Panels and Performances from the Global Community of Live Digital Art

Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2024

The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) is produced by Spiderwebshow Performance.

Mission: Empowering the global community with boundary-pushing live digital artistry that transcends barriers and inspires profound connections.

Vision: To lead a revolution in live digital art, shaping a future defined by creativity and connection.

Brand Purpose: Through empowering live digital art experiences, we unite, provoke, and inspire.

Values

Creativity: Cultivating innovation in every aspect.
Inclusivity: Celebrating diversity and fostering accessibility.
Exploration: Pushing the boundaries of artistic possibility.
Leadership: Adapting and thriving in a dynamic world.
Fun: Balancing the hard work of making art with joy and lightness

Schedule

Thursday 13 June

PLAY by Dr. Jenn Stephenson and Mariah (Mo) Horner
2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

This event marks the launch of PLAY: Dramaturgies of Participation by Dr. Jenn Stephenson and Mariah (Mo) Horner, published by Playwrights Canada Press! The book is comprised of standalone mini-essays that collect, describe, and analyze live performances in which the audience become participants in the piece itself. After a short interactive interview with SpiderWebShow Performance Artistic Director and FOLDA Co-Curator, Adrienne Wong, Jenn and Mo will read excerpts from their book.

Remote video URL

 

Friday 14 June

AI in Creative Performance by bluemouth inc, Cole Lewis, and David Rokeby
11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 2 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

Meet with the artists from bluemouth inc behind immersive multimedia experience LUCY AI, co-artistic director of Guilty by Association Cole Lewis, and David Rokeby, director of The BMO Lab for Creative Research in the Arts, Performance, Emerging Technologies, and AI. Talk about real examples of artificial intelligence in creative performance practice. Through real-life case studies, we’ll uncover how this technology is applied to create performances right now.

Remote video URL

 

Saturday 15 June

Windrush: From Kingston to Kingston by Marcel Stewart and Oonya Kempadoo
9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC -4)

Windrush journeys through three generations, exploring identity, belonging, and legacy amidst the backdrop of the Windrush era. From Jamaica to England and Canada, it captures the vibrant experiences of migrants seeking opportunities. Through monologues, cultural references, and ancestral presence, it delves into family, resilience, and the quest for home. Celebrating heritage and sacrifices, the show promises an immersive experience with binaural sound and projections.

Remote video URL

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based, peer-produced, open-access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world’s performing-arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and develop our knowledge commons collectively. Anyone can participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First