fbpx Canada | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Canada

The Latest

The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) 2024
Video
The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) 2024
Panels and Performances from the Global Community of Live Digital Art
Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2024
Toronto, Canada
Digging for Bones with Topdog/Underdog
Podcast
Digging for Bones with Topdog/Underdog
by Leticia Ridley, Jordan Ealey
15 November 2023
Our Trauma Twin Siblings: Building Creative Spaces for Queer and Trans Tamil Community as Teardrop Collective
Essay
Our Trauma Twin Siblings: Building Creative Spaces for Queer and Trans Tamil Community as Teardrop Collective
by Gitanjali Lena, Hari Somaskantha
31 March 2023
glowing blue binary code around a shape labeled A I.
The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) 2024
Video

The Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA) 2024

Panels and Performances from the Global Community of Live Digital Art

Thursday 13 June to Saturday 15 June 2024
Toronto, Canada

Join us for the launch of PLAY: Dramaturgies of Participation by Dr. Jenn Stephenson and Mariah (Mo) Horner; a panel on AI in Creative Performance by bluemouth inc, Cole Lewis, and David Rokeby; and a performance of Windrush by Marcel Stewart and Oonya Kempadoo.

A promotional graphic for the Daughters of Lorraine Podcast
Digging for Bones with Topdog/Underdog
Podcast

Digging for Bones with Topdog/Underdog

15 November 2023

Hosts Leticia Ridley and Jordan Ealey dig into the dramaturgies and theories of Suzan-Lori Parks and discuss Canadian Stage’s production of Parks’s Topdog/Underdog.
 

Illustration of several different pairs of people holding hands with each other.
Our Trauma Twin Siblings: Building Creative Spaces for Queer and Trans Tamil Community as Teardrop Collective
Essay

Our Trauma Twin Siblings: Building Creative Spaces for Queer and Trans Tamil Community as Teardrop Collective

31 March 2023

Hari Somaskantha and Gitanjali exchange letters discussing their work with Teardrop Collective, a Toronto-based group that centers stories of queer, trans, Deaf, and hearing people of Tamil, Sri Lankan, and South Asian descent.

Illustration of several different hands all holding needles and working on a sewing project together.
Intentional, Relational, Consensual: A New Framework for Performing Arts Contracts
Essay

Intentional, Relational, Consensual: A New Framework for Performing Arts Contracts

30 March 2023

This dynamic summary of a panel co-curated by Rachel Penny and Nikki Shaffeeullah as part of Parallel Tracks 2.0 brings together several artists, producers, and lawyers in a discussion about contracting, how it has been impacted by COVID-19, and interrogating power dynamics within the contracting process.

Illustration of various cushioned chairs.
Imagining Creative Fat Futures
Essay

Imagining Creative Fat Futures

29 March 2023

Morgan Davis and Jules Vodarek Hunter discuss the process of creating Fat Fables, a theatre program for fat LGBT2SQ+ artists who are twenty-nine and under.

An illustration of a clothesline with a film strip in front of it.
Making Then Is Now During a Pandemic with Our Chinese Canadian Feminist Elders
Essay

Making Then Is Now During a Pandemic with Our Chinese Canadian Feminist Elders

28 March 2023

Julia Hune-Brown and Keira Loughran discuss crafting Then Is Now, a concept album/video playlist they created through conversations with Chinese Canadian women who grew up in Toronto’s Chinatown during the era of the Chinese Exclusion Act.

A performer sits at a desk and draws while a screen to the right broadcasts a video of the drawing.
Community Engagement, Anti-Oppression, and Digital Space
Essay

Community Engagement, Anti-Oppression, and Digital Space

27 March 2023

Artist, facilitator, and cultural innovator Nikki Shaffeeullah kicks off this series by sharing her journey to creating Undercurrent Creations, a Toronto-based arts organization, and Parallel Tracks, a gathering of BIPOC artists that offers training in visioning, producing, and facilitating community arts projects.

event poster for Re-Centering Cultural Performance and Orange Economy Book Launch.
Book Launch: Re-Centering Cultural Performance and Orange Economy in Post-Colonial Africa: Policy, Soft Power, and Sustainability
Video

Book Launch: Re-Centering Cultural Performance and Orange Economy in Post-Colonial Africa: Policy, Soft Power, and Sustainability

Offering Perspectives on Ways Existing Cultural and Non-Cultural Infrastructures Can Open Opportunities for Diplomacy and Soft Power

Tuesday 14 March 2023
Saskatchewan, Canada

The Centre for Socially Engaged Theatre (C-SET) at the Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance at the University of Regina, in collaboration with Theatre Emissary International, presents the online book launch of Re-centering Cultural Performance and Orange Economy in Post-Colonial Africa: Policy, Soft Power, and Sustainability. This book explores the role of national theatres, cultural centers, cultural policy, festivals, and the film industry as creative and cultural performance hubs for exercising soft power and cultural diplomacy. This event will feature live captioning and ASL interpretation.

Poster for Book Launch event.
Book Launch: Different Models, One Goal: Doing Theatre, Democracy, and Social Justice
Video

Book Launch: Different Models, One Goal: Doing Theatre, Democracy, and Social Justice

Socially-Engaged Theatre Through the Lens of Tor Iorapuu's Community-Driven Theatre

Friday 18 November 2022
Nigeria and Canada

The Centre for Socially Engaged Theatre (C-SET), in collaboration with Theatre Emissary International and the University of Jos, Nigeria, presented the online book launch of Different Models, One Goal: Doing Theatre, Democracy, and Social Justice edited by Adediran Ademiju-Bepo, Hussaini U. Tsaku, Awuawuer Tijime Justine, Shadrach Teryila Ukuma, and Bem Alfred Abugh livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network on Friday 18 November 2022 at 9 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 10 a.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 3 p.m. GMT (London, UTC +0) / 16:00 CET (Berlin, UTC +1) / 4 p.m. WAT (Lagos, UTC +1).

Several people sitting in a field watching a puppet show.
Bringing Trouble: An Account of a Travelling Bicycle Puppet Show
Essay

Bringing Trouble: An Account of a Travelling Bicycle Puppet Show

25 January 2022

In 2021, Ian McFarlane and Laura Stinson of North Barn Theatre launched into a bicycle tour that brought a puppet circus to rural communities across Nova Scotia. They discuss the creation and performance of their show, which joyously embraced troublemaking as a path to activism.

Figure with bulbs of fire
Five Protocols of Theatrical Indigeneity
Essay

Five Protocols of Theatrical Indigeneity

An Audio Essay and Sound-Ceremony for Reciprocal Action

2 July 2021

Lisa Cooke Ravensbergen shares how new story bundles can “disrupt the noise of colonialism” through what she calls protocols of theatrical Indigeneity.

text LEVEL UP
Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design
Video

Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design

Engaging in meaningful conversations on digital tools in live performance

Monday 18 January - Saturday 13 February 2021
Canada

Associated Designers of Canada and ToasterLab presented the symposium Level Up: The Dramaturgy of Digital Performance and Design livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Monday 18 January to Saturday 13 February 2021.

two people posing for a photo seated in front a marbled grey background
Knowing It’s Time to Go / Savoir quand partir
Essay

Knowing It’s Time to Go / Savoir quand partir

A Conversation on Passing the Torch of Artistic Leadership / Discussion sur le passage du flambeau de la direction artistique  

4 February 2021

David Dower and Martin Faucher discuss leaving their leadership positions at Boston’s ArtsEmerson and Montreal’s Festival TransAmériques, respectively; the balance between artistic responsibility and activist responsibility as artistic leaders; passing the torch to the next generation; and more. / David Dower, directeur artistique du ArtsEmerson de Boston, et Martin Faucher, codirecteur général et directeur artistique du Festival TransAmériques de Montréal, discutent de leur départ respectif, de l’équilibre entre la responsabilité artistique et la responsabilité militante en tant que directeur artistique, du passage du flambeau à la prochaine génération, et plus.

Uncovering
Video

Uncovering

A work-in-progress video collaboration featuring artists connected to Kingston, Ontario

Wednesday 16 December 2020
Canada

anARC Theatre and the Circus Kingston Collective presented a work-in-progress performance of Uncovering livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 16 December 2020 at 3 p.m. PST (Vancouver, UTC -8) / 5 p.m. CST (Winnipeg, UTC -6) / 6 p.m. EST (Toronto, UTC -5).

Segal Talks with Samuel Buggeln
Video

Segal Talks with Samuel Buggeln

Join us for a conversation about curating, producing and presenting theatre and performance in the Time of Corona

Wednesday 2 December 2020
United States

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented SEGAL TALKS with Samuel Buggeln livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 2 December 2020 at 9 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 11 a.m. CST (Chicago, UTC -6) / 12 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -5) / 17:00 GMT (London, UTC +01) / 18:00 CET (Berlin, UTC +1).

blue background with yellow culturecapital:online text
culturecapital:online LUKE REECE vs DANI FECKO
Video

culturecapital:online LUKE REECE vs DANI FECKO

Two players compete online for sweet art money in culturecapital, the arts economy trading card game

Tuesday 27 October 2020
Canada

The fourth round of culturecapital:online LUKE REECE vs DANI FECKO livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 27 October 2020 at 6 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC-7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 9 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4) / Thursday 21 May 10:00 KST (Seoul, UTC+9) / 13:00 NZST (Auckland, UTC+12).

digital rendering of city street with white text PERFORMANCE XR 2020
Performance and XR 2020 (PXR2020) Symposium
Video

Performance and XR 2020 (PXR2020) Symposium

A Virtual Reality Symposium for Canadian artists and XR technologists, exploring creation and performance in XR

Friday 2 October to Saturday 10 October
Canada

Toasterlab presented the symposium Performance and XR 2020 (PXR2020) livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 2 October to Saturday 10 October 2020.

blue background with yellow culturecapital:online text
culturecapital:online JENNA RODGERS vs MADDIE BAUTISTA
Video

culturecapital:online JENNA RODGERS vs MADDIE BAUTISTA

Two players compete online for sweet art money in culturecapital, the arts economy trading card game

Wednesday 30 September 2020
Canada

The third round of culturecapital:online JENNA RODGERS vs MADDIE BAUTISTA livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 30 September 2020 at 6 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC-7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 9 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4) / Thursday 21 May 10:00 KST (Seoul, UTC+9) / 13:00 NZST (Auckland, UTC+12).

blue background with yellow culturecapital:online text
culturecapital:online MARK HOPKINS vs RALPH ESCAMILLAN
Video

culturecapital:online MARK HOPKINS vs RALPH ESCAMILLAN

Two players compete online for sweet art money in culturecapital, the arts economy trading card game

Wednesday 2 September 2020
Canada

The second round of culturecapital:online MARK HOPKINS vs RALPH ESCAMILLAN livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 2 September 2020 at 6 p.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC-7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 9 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4) / Thursday 21 May 10:00 KST (Seoul, UTC+9) / 13:00 NZST (Auckland, UTC+12).

an actor onstage
This Is How We Cripped It
Essay

This Is How We Cripped It

12 August 2020

Debbie Patterson talks about the barriers faced by artists with disabilities and how creative teams can “crip” the work—embracing the disruptions created by disability to open up previously unimagined possibilities.

[A photo of Lavie. She wears a black beret and turtle neck and red long traditional Maori earrings.]
Anti-Oppression in the Performing Arts LAB with Lavie Williams
Video

Anti-Oppression in the Performing Arts LAB with Lavie Williams

A two hour learning session guiding performers to consider how whiteness, tokenization, appropriation and allyship manifest in their arts practices

Thursday 9 July 2020
Kingston, Ontario

Kingston Circus Arts and anARC Theatre presented Anti-Oppression in the Performing Arts LAB with Lavie Williams livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 9 July 2020 at 8 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 11 a.m. EDT (Kingston, UTC-4).

Segal theatre center logo.
SEGAL TALKS: Émilie Monnet and Greg Hill
Video

SEGAL TALKS: Émilie Monnet and Greg Hill

An update on the situation for theatre artists in Canada

Tuesday 7 July 2020
Canada

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented SEGAL TALKS: Émilie Monnet and Greg Hill livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 7 July 2020 at 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 17:00 BST (London, UTC +1) / 18:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2).

two people standing infront of a large projection
Shuffling Performance Discourse
Essay

Shuffling Performance Discourse

22 June 2020

Milton Lim and Patrick Blenkarn talk about culturecapital, their arts trading card game that offers a window into the complex relationships artists have with public funding, being socially relevant, and navigating a rapidly changing landscape of ethics, politics, and economics within the arts.

Trees and leaves, a 360 degree camera amongst them, with the Toaster Lab logo overlain
The Toasterlab Mixed Reality Performance Hack (tMoRPH) Final Presentations
Video

The Toasterlab Mixed Reality Performance Hack (tMoRPH) Final Presentations

Toasterlab’s Mixed Reality Performance Atelier is a two-year deep dive into the current mixed reality methods used by theatre and performance makers

Friday 19 June 2020
Toronto, Canada

ToasterLab presented a Mixed Reality Performance Hack (tMoRPH) Final Presentations livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 19 June 2020 at 9 a.m. AKDT (Juneau, UTC-8) / 10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2).

Orange shimmer on a turquoise background with the text Festival of live digital art.
FOLDA — Festival of Live Digital Art 2020
Video

FOLDA — Festival of Live Digital Art 2020

Bringing you to the forefront of Canada’s most innovative live performances

Tuesday 2 June and Wednesday 10 June through Saturday 13 June 2020
Canada

SpiderWebShow Performance presented FOLDA - The Festival of Live Digital Art 2020 livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 2 June and Wednesday 10 June to Saturday 13 June 2020.